Press "Enter" to skip to content

Leroy D. Baca, wins National Sheriffs’ Association 2013 Sheriff of the Year

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) has declared that Leroy D. Baca, Sheriff of Los Angeles County, California has been selected as the 2013 Ferris E. Lucas Award for Sheriff of the Year winner. The Ferris E. Lucas Award will be presented at the Opening General Session on Sunday, June 23rd at NSA’s Annual Conference in Charlotte, North Carolina.
Sheriff Baca was elected as the Chief Law Enforcement Officer in Los Angeles County in 1998. He commands the largest Sheriff’s Office in the United States with a budget of $2.5 billion. He leads nearly 18,000 sworn and professional staff who compromise the law enforcement providers for forty-two incorporated cities, 140 unincorporated communities, ten community colleges, and thousands of Metropolitan Transit Authority and Rapid Rail Transit District commuters.
The Office of the Los Angeles County Sheriff manages the nation’s largest local jail system housing nearly 20,000 inmates which has recently come under considerable scrutiny for allegations of abuse. Baca has promised to investigate and correct any wrongdoings on behalf of his deputies accused of abusing inmates.
Sheriff Baca, a United States Marine Corps Reserve veteran, earned his Doctorate in Public Administration from the University of Southern California. He was elected to the NSA Board of Directors in 2005 and elected to the Executive Committee in 2011. He is the chair of the NSA Global Affairs Policing Committee and also serves on the Congressional Affairs and Homeland Security Committees.
baca 3
-Photo by Terry Miller

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *